Erasmus was the European Union's flagship educational exchange programme for Higher Education students, teachers and institutions. It was introduced with the aim of increasing student mobility within Europe. Erasmus formed part of the EU Lifelong Learning Programme (2007-2013). It encouraged student and staff mobility for work and study, and promoted trans-national co-operation projects among universities across Europe. The scheme supported co-operation between the universities of 33 countries.

Erasmus has developed beyond an educational programme - it has acquired the status of a social and cultural phenomenon. It gave many European university students their first chance to live and thrive abroad. Over three million students have benefited from Erasmus since its introduction in 1987.

For information on 'Erasmus+', which replaced the Lifelong Learning Programme in 2014, please visit the Erasmus+ official website.

Information for Erasmus incoming students

To participate in Erasmus student mobility, you should first contact the international office of the institution where you study at home. The office will be able to tell you about possible host institutions, the selection procedure and financial support.

The Faculty of Law of the University of Ljubljana has concluded exchange agreements within the Erasmus+ Programme with more than 90 universities from nearly all of Europe. Some 70-80 incoming Erasmus students spend one or two terms at our Faculty of Law annually.

Deadlines for submitting application forms are:

  • May 15th for the winter term and the whole academic year,
  • November 15th for the summer term.

More information for incoming students is available in the attached document or at the University of Ljubljana website.

You are also invited to watch a short video presentation of the international cooperation of the University of Ljubljana.

We look forward to welcoming you and hope your stay in Ljubljana will be a pleasant and rewarding one!